Splattered in Gold

Don’t you wish everything could just be splattered in gold? During one of my flea market adventures, I discovered a pair of door knobs. Yes, splattered in gold. I’m not sure how the gold got there or why I was so lucky in this discovery.. but I was ready to give them a new life.

I walked miles and miles (hyperbole) at the flea market, trying to think of how I could use these knobs. And then I found a regular old wooden tray. BINGO! I decided to make a serving tray.

FullSizeRender.jpg

When I brought this project home, I originally was planning on putting some small tiles on the bottom of the tray. Then I quickly discovered.. tiles are really expensive!! So that was quickly deleted from my mental list.

I was then walking miles and miles (hyperbole ctd.) through Home Depot and stumbled upon a gold metal sheet. You know one of those sheets that covers old school heaters – that kind! I don’t know why that sheet clicked for me, but I decided I wanted to use this as the base of the tray instead! My golden knobs would have a golden friend.

The main obstacle with these piece was adding the knobs. I used my handy drill with the largest drill bit in the case and spent an incredibly long time getting the holes to be the exact right size for the knob handles. (Like a very hard time.)

I then cut the metal sheet just with a regular pair of scissors and nailed it into the base of the tray. And that’s that!

I love where this piece came from and what is has turned into today. I can picture someone using this tray to serve their best friends some beers and mixed drinks or someone using this tray to bring their loved one breakfast in bed. When I say this, I hope you’re picturing this image with a hint of gold 😉

Instagram: @novo_designsco

Leave a Reply

