The Jackie.

“A knick-knack is a thing that sits on top of a what-not.” – Oliver Hardy

This ‘knick-knack holder’ was found at a flea market and wasn’t as shiny as it is now. In fact, it was a bit run down with a chippy paint and a faded white finish.

FullSizeRender-5

Materials:

  • Paint
  • Spray paint
  • Paint brushes
  • Sand paper
  • Painting tape

My friend, Jackie, and I decided to give our idle hands some purpose one Sunday evening. And what better way to do so than with a paint project!?

First we sanded the piece down just to make the wood a bit smoother and get rid of the littles bumps and bruises. Next comes paint!

My friend took many many art classes in college .. so I tasked her with blending the base color. She came up with this beautiful blue-ish turquoise by mixing blue and green and white acrylic paints. Once she was finished with this mastery, we both were psyched about discovering a new color! I call it ‘The Jackie.”

Once “The Jackie” dried, we wanted to give it some pattern. So I tried my best to lay out some blue paint tape to the background of the wood. To be honest, it’s very very hard to make straight lines free hand. But to be more honest, I like the character and imperfect-ness of all my pieces, so I’ll allow it.

We wanted to make this pattern bold. So we chose gold. The problem was that I didn’t have gold paint BUT I did have spray paint. So we risked two small paint brushes, sprayed the brushes with the paint, and tried our best to paint in the lines. Once that was done.. we threw out the brushes 🙂

And finally our paint project was finished! This gem holds a special place in my heart because not only did I get the chance to give a new life to an old piece, but I got to do it with a close friend.

Instagram: @novo_designsco

Etsy: etsy.com/shop/NovoCo

Leave a Reply

